Drawlloween 26 : “Wow, he just made the international sign of the doughnut.”

They Came From Outerspace

I’m a pretty big fan of Horror films.
Slashers, Paranormal, Psychological, you name it, I’ve taken a peek.
Now, not a lot frightens me…
aside from being alone in the dark with my own imagination.

…and Aliens that is.

For some reason anything that has to do with Aliens really freak me out…

When I was little I used to be really scared of the Alien section in The Great Movie Ride in Walt Disney World. And a restaurant near my house thought it would be a fantastic idea to have a life-size model of a Xenomorph in between one of the tables…But once I watched the films, I quickly got over my fears.

Xenomorphs don’t really scare me. I mean they’re horrifying creatures, but they’ve never kept me up at night. Aliens with eyes, specifically big eyes, now they freak me out. I don’t know why, because big eyes in animals always warms my heart. But Big Eyes in aliens? …No Way. I’m guessing it has something to do with being in touch with their emotions.

I won’t go into detail with other aliens with big eyes, I’m just going to focus on one.

Mars Attacks!

I was at my Grandparent’s house with my Mom, Aunts and cousin. I don’t know how or why but at some point that movie was put on and I was forced to watch it. When I say forced, they didn’t literally tie me to a chair ala Clockwork Orange, but I remember having to watch the entire film.

I was wary from the start but once the dog was killed I was out. I burst into tears and left the room, only to be coaxed back in for more horrors. Why we didn’t just change the channel is beyond me. It took me years to finally rewatch that movie and to fully put it behind me.

It’s one of the rare early Tim Burton films that I dislike. He used to be my favorite director growing up, thanks to Batman Returns, Beetlejuice and Edward Scissorhands. Burton was a huge fan of those 1950s Sci-fi  films and B movies and wanted to pay a homage to the genre.

The look and style of the Aliens were inspired by the Mars Attacks trading card collection. The decision to have an A-List cast was motivated by the disaster films of the 1970s, such as The Poseidon Adventure and The Towering Inferno.

It’s a shame the aliens are in it, because it’s a pretty entertaining movie considering all the actors and humor.

Oh well, make sure you head over to Instagram.

Thanks for Reading!

PS

Taking about another man from space…in Back to the Future history: do you know what today is?

Leave a comment