Northern Baby Shower – “Hey, what’s this? It looks like you’re “showering” Marge with gifts. With tiny, little, baby-sized gifts… oh, well, I’ll be in the tub.”

Well, I made it through.

You’re probably wondering to what I am referring…

Let’s Back Up.

My Mom was hosting a Baby Shower for me in my hometown.
When we came back from Florida, I was all set to head back up North with my parents and Gracie. But then I started to think about how much I would miss being with my Stan and Annie for 14 days and all the things I needed to do around the house in preparation for Baby.
Then my Husband made this rather alarming request…

“Please don’t have the baby without me.”

Although he was being cute, that’s when the likelihood of indeed going into preterm labor seriously hit me. So, we decided it would be best to shorten the trip to a long weekend. Everything was going fine but then I started to experience a few “symptoms” which were extremely similar to prelabor…o_O Thus, I spent much of last week trying to fend off going into labor.
Spoiler: I’m still pregnant 😛


19th March 2017

 The Baby Shower

It was a bit stressful, I will admit that. Due to the storm I did not receive some of the supplies we needed until the day we left, which left us with Saturday Night and Sunday Morning to finish some of the favors.

My Mom and Aunt met Stan, Annie and I half way. Which actually was a lot of fun, we stayed at a Marriott Residency and ordered Steak Pizza!
(Neither of us have ever tried it before and it was absolutely delicious :-P)

Back Home
My Mom and I made Lavender Potpourri Bags and Bookmarks as favors.
Finishing without a minute to spare.

But after the stress of getting everything ready the day was absolutely perfect.

My Mom hosted the shower at one of our favorite places,
the Tea House.

I really wanted an earthy feel.
My Mom chose Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit for the invitations.
and
I wore a lacy off white dress with flower jewelry.

My Cousin Ginny, surprised me by creating a Flower Crown for my head.
Which matched things perfectly.

Once again, I felt completely blessed to be surrounded by so many people who cared so deeply for me. Friends drove from far and wide just to spend the afternoon with me and my Bump.
It really just makes me so grateful
and
remindful to take the time to count my blessings.

Back at the Tea House
We drank tea of course and played games.

One game I chose was a Disney Song game where you need to pick the Disney Movie that goes with the Disney song.

Guess the correct Disney movie to the Disney song title.

Song                                                                       Movie

  1. ‘A Whole New World’              ______________________________________
  2. ‘Ever Ever After’                       ______________________________________
  3. ‘Hakuna Matata’                       ______________________________________
  4. ‘When You Wish Upon a Star’ _____________________________________
  5. ‘Under the Sea’                           ______________________________________
  6. ‘Once Upon a Dream’               ______________________________________
  7. ‘Be Our Guest’                             ______________________________________
  8. ‘When Will My Life Begin’       ______________________________________
  9. ‘Lets Get Together’                    ______________________________________
  10. ‘Colors of the Wind’                  ______________________________________
  11. ‘You’ll Be in My Heart’             ______________________________________
  12. ‘Reflection’                                  ______________________________________
  13. ‘A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes’ _______________________________
  14. ‘Someday My Prince Will Come’ ____________________________________
  15. ‘A Spoonful of Sugar’                ______________________________________
  16. ‘The Bare Necessities’               ______________________________________
  17. ‘I Can Go the Distance’             ______________________________________
  18. ‘You Can Fly! You Can Fly! You Can Fly!’ _______________________________
  19. ‘God Help the Outcasts’           _______________________________________
  20. ‘Why Should I Worry?’             _______________________________________
  21. ‘Touch the Sky’                           _______________________________________
  22. ‘Best of Friends’                         _______________________________________
  23. ‘He Mele No Lilo’                       _______________________________________
  24. ‘If I Didn’t Have You’                _______________________________________
  25. ‘Mother Knows Best’                 _______________________________________
  26. ‘Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah’              _______________________________________
  27. ‘Friends On The Other Side’    _______________________________________
  28. ‘Baby Mine’                                   _______________________________________
  29. ‘Just Around the Riverbend’    _______________________________________
  30. ‘Eye To Eye’                                   _______________________________________

Feel free to guess, I’ll leave the answers below in the comments after I post.
😉

The Pièce De Résistance was the absolutely stunning cake.

I have always wanted a cake made of fondant and I’ve never tasted it before.
And so forth, what better opportunity to try something new than my Baby Shower.
Since I love books (and to match our Wedding theme)
We chose three of my favorite books from Childhood
Bambi (Favorite Movie as a toddler)
The Jolly Postman
Forget-Me-Not
and my favorite Beatrix Potter character as the topper,
Tom Kitten

My Mom, Dad and I discussed in-depth about its creation and decided on
White Cake with Oreo filling!
😛

Check out my Instagram for a view of the Cake!

In the end, there’s not much more I can say about the day than it was everything I ever hoped for in a Baby Shower. Aside from my Grandma being in Florida and a few of my closest friends being scattered around the country, it was absolutely perfect.


I got back to my Home with Annie and my Husband on Tuesday and that was that.
After all that, all that worry was over in one short weekend.
🙂

To recap on the Weekend
Overall, it was bittersweet to be back home where I grew up. Knowing that this would be the last time I would be there alone. That the next time I’ll be back, I can no longer pretend to be the baby, since I no longer will be the baby 😛

But more on that for another Post.

TGIF!!
Hope you have wonderful plans for the Weekend.
😀

Thank you for Reading.

One thought on “Northern Baby Shower – “Hey, what’s this? It looks like you’re “showering” Marge with gifts. With tiny, little, baby-sized gifts… oh, well, I’ll be in the tub.”

  1. Guess the correct Disney movie to the Disney song title answers:
    1. ‘A Whole New World’ ____Aladdin___________________________________
    2. ‘Ever Ever After’ ____Enchanted________________________________
    3. ‘Hakuna Matata’ ____The_Lion_King_____________________________
    4. ‘When You Wish Upon a Star’ ____Pinocchio_________________________________
    5. ‘Under the Sea’ ____The_Little_Mermaid_________________________
    6. ‘Once Upon a Dream’ ____Sleeping_Beauty___________________________
    7. ‘Be Our Guest’ ____Beauty_and_the_Beast______________________
    8. ‘When Will My Life Begin’ ____Tangled__________________________________
    9. ‘Lets Get Together’ ____The_Parent_Trap__________________________
    10. ‘Colors of the Wind’ ____Pocahontas_______________________________
    11. ‘You’ll Be in My Heart’ ____Tarzan___________________________________
    12. ‘Reflection’ ____Mulan___________________________________
    13. ‘A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes’ ____Cinderella________________________________
    14. ‘Someday My Prince Will Come’ ____Snow_White_and_the_Seven_Dwarfs__________
    15. ‘A Spoonful of Sugar’ ____Mary_Poppins_____________________________
    16. ‘The Bare Necessities’ ____The_Jungle_Book__________________________
    17. ‘I Can Go the Distance’ ____Hercules_________________________________
    18. ‘You Can Fly! You Can Fly! You Can Fly!’____Peter_Pan_______________________________
    19. ‘God Help the Outcasts’ ____The_Hunchback_of_Notre_Dame_____________
    20. ‘Why Should I Worry?’ ____Oliver_and_Company______________________
    21. ‘Touch the Sky’ ____Brave___________________________________
    22. ‘Best of Friends’ ____The_Fox_and_The_Hound__________________
    23. ‘He Mele No Lilo’ ____Lilo_and_Stitch___________________________
    24. ‘If I Didn’t Have You’ ____Monsters_Inc_____________________________
    25. ‘Mother Knows Best’ ____Tangled_________________________________
    26. ‘Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah’ ____Splash_Mountain_or_Song_of_the_South______
    27. ‘Friends On The Other Side’ ____Princess_and_the_Frog____________________
    28. ‘Baby Mine’ ____Dumbo__________________________________
    29. ‘Just Around the Riverbend’ ____Pocahontas______________________________
    30. ‘’Eye To Eye’ ____A_Goofy_Movie___________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

