Rest in Peace, Ms. Fisher.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Carrie Fisher this past week. Ever since I learned of her heart attack I’ve been praying for her to get better. And have been Googling for updates on her current status.

For some reason I didn’t check yesterday. Stan was the one who told me.

And all I could think about was loss.

The loss for her daughter, Billie Lourd.

The loss for her mother, Debbie Reynolds.

The loss for Star Wars fans.

&

The loss for the world, as a whole.

As a child I loved Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia, of course.  She wasn’t my favorite character but I understood her importance. I loved her for her Bad Assery, her strength in the midst of a male dominated franchise and for her brown hair. I loved that she wasn’t a blonde bombshell, but a true Bad Ass brunette.

The only reason she wasn’t my favorite was the fact she wasn’t a Jedi. I craved for the moment she would pick up a light saber and fight alongside Luke. But I guess her skills in the war room which led her to becoming General Leia was much more important than having two Jedi in the family. (In fact, I read somewhere that Leia felt the force inside her but chose a different path…but I digress.)

As I matured my admiration for Carrie Fisher deepened. I learned that she was so much more than just a Princess, she was a brilliant, witty writer as well.

As an aspiring writer, I learned of all the writing she did throughout her career and realized how truly gifted she was. Not only had she written multiple books and screenplays but she did many rewrites for screenplays over the years as well.

Although I’ll miss her artistic talent dearly, I will miss her unapologetic talent for cutting through the bullshit of this world.

I was reminded of a rather powerful quote from her 2008 book, Wistful Drinking:

“Stay afraid, but do it anyway. What’s important is the action. You don’t have to wait to be confident. Just do it and eventually the confidence will follow.” ~Carrie Fisher

This is such a poignant quote, I can’t believe I needed to be reminded of its existence. These words need to be read and lived each and every day.

 Everyone, especially every woman needs to read the work of Carrie Fisher. From her books to just her musings on life. And allow her unique views to seep into your soul.

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m going to start reading my Christmas present, The Princess Diarist.

May God Bless Carrie Fisher.

and

may she Rest in Peace.

Thank you for Reading.

*Update: as someone who is deeply close to my Mother and Grandmother, my heart goes out to Billie Lourd. I can’t imagine what she must be feeling during this time. To lose two of the most important women in your life within a day of each other is beyond cruel. 

It’s hard to believe that Debbie Reynolds is gone. I was no where near the fan I was with her daughter but I still had a great respect for her. 

I loved her in Singing in the Rain and grew up watching the Halloweentown Disney movies. I’ve always had a great passion for studying Hollywood history, which led to my deep appreciation for her career.

I pray for her to be resting peacefully with Carrie Fisher tonight. 

And may Billie Lourd find the strength to get through this difficult time. 

Leave a Reply

