7.December.1941 (2016)

God Bless America

I’ve been passionate about the War in the Pacific for as long as I can remember.

My Paternal Grandfather served in the Pacific during the war.

While my Maternal Grandfather was my very first teacher on the subject.

When I studied World War II in school we never really touched on the War in the Pacific. To be honest we didn’t really reach WWII that often in history class and when we did we focused on the Holocaust.

It’s important to learn as much as we can from history,
and I think an important lesson from the attack on Pearl Harbor is Unity.
We came together as a nation that day.
Many people opposed the US involvement in the War in Europe but after December 7th they wanted to fight.

I know I sound like a broken record but it’s so important now more than ever to remember the strength we have in ourselves. The strength we have when we come together as a nation. We may just be one person, one voice, and its easy to think that we can’t make a difference,

but I’ll let Disney explain:

The Emperor of China from Mulan,

“A single grain of rice can tip the scale. One man may be the difference between victory and defeat.”

or maybe listen to a villain’s point of view,
Hopper from A Bug’s Life,

“You let one ant stand up to us, then they all might stand up! Those puny little ants outnumber us a hundred to one and if they ever figure that out there goes our way of life! It’s not about food, it’s about keeping those ants in line.”

I’m not trying to compare the Japanese bombing Pearl Harbor to recent Political events,
I’m focusing on the Strength of the American spirit.

Our ancestors were faced with a difficult task and they went in guns blazing.

and here we are 75 years later
with a country divided.

Personally, I think we can either give up and watch from the sidelines as decisions are made for us.

or

We can jump into action.
Not everyone volunteered to go off to War.
Just look at our Women at home,
they worked in factories, ran food drives, collected metal
and kept the family together.

There is so much that we can be doing,
just staying informed can make a world of difference.

I’m going to get off my soap box now and let you all have a good night’s rest.

I’m Proud to be an American.
Tonight I pray and salute all the men and women who lost their lives 75 years ago today.

Thank you for Reading

and don’t forget:
Day 07 : Make Cards for Nursing Home Residents.

Post-Post Script

although he’s not my favorite host,
I’ll leave this quote from Trevor Noah here for you:

“Let’s Not Be Divided. Divided People Are Easier to Rule.”

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

