Honoring those who have passed on

I’d just like to take a moment to honor and pray for all of the loved ones we have lost.

Did you know that All Saints Day and All Souls Day are two different days?

I feel like this is one of those things that I learn and then forget and relearn every year.

These two days stem from the belief that we are still connected to those who have passed.
Those in heaven who are known as the Church triumphant
and
those living on Earth known as the Church militant.

Both of these days Honor the lives of those who have passed, but each day holds a different meaning.

November 1st is All Saints’ Day

All Saints’ Day is dedicated to Saints.

The Day is also reserved for people who have passed away and have attained Heaven.

November 2nd is All Souls’ Day

All Souls’ Day is dedicated to those who have passed away and not yet reached heaven.

I pray every night for my family and close friends.
I always pray before dinner but praying before bed was never something I did on a daily basis. I’d always stay up way too late working and pass out or I’d just have way too many things on my mind to remember. And if I did pray it’d be quick.

Ever since my Dad got sick, I’ve made it a point to say a quick pray before every meal and pray each and every night before bed. Sometimes it’s been a chore forcing myself to pray after a long night but for the most part it’s been quite tranquil to take that time to think about my loved ones and those in need.

So, for the past two days I’ve been thinking a lot about the people in my life who have left us.

Specifically, my Grandpa, Nana, Grandpa, Aunt
and all of my wonderful animal friends.

My Maternal Grandpa was one of the strongest most outspoken people I ever knew. He wasn’t afraid to speak his mind but he also wasn’t afraid to apologize if he was wrong. He was diagnosed with Mesothelioma in his early 70s. At the time I felt he was robbed, though in hindsight, we were lucky to have him for as long as we did. Many of his friends were diagnosed while they were in their 50s, if that were the case I never would have met him.

My Nana and my Paternal Grandpa passed away after long full lives. They were both around 90 when they passed having traveled the world and raising Children and Grandchildren and even great Grandchildren. My only sadness is that they never got to know me as an adult.

My Aunt was definitely robbed. It’s true that she experienced a lot in her 60 years of living. She was a strong independent woman, who traveled and experienced life. She was a mother but she’ll never see her child get married or experience grandchildren or all of the other wonderful things life has to offer.

My Animal Friends have given me more love and support throughout the years than any human possibly ever could. While people have their jealousies and neuroses, animals are always there for you One Hundred Percent…well, okay make that Ninety-Nine Percent at dinner time.

I’m  sending out my thoughts and prayers for your loved ones who have passed.
May they be resting peacefully.

Thank you for Reading.

Leave a Reply

