Drawlloween 21 : “Not quite perished, my lady love, although some days I wish I had.”

Phantom Phriday

Do you have a favorite Broadway Musical? Musical or Play, it doesn’t have to be Broadway.
I seriously love just about any musical, I love to sing-a-long to each track, female or male.
I prefer the Broadway Production of Thoroughly Modern Millie to the film version, and the film version of West Side Story to the Broadway revival.
But The Phantom of the Opera will always be the tops for me.

My parents took me to see Phantom of the Opera for my birthday one year. I can’t remember why I had the desire to see that particular show. I know I was the one who requested it, I think probably because I heard cool things about the chandelier scene.

But when I exited that theater with my parents on that humid summer night,
I was hooked.

And The Phantom of the Opera has remained my favorite ever since, I bought the full 2-part musical CD complete with follow along booklet. I even put on a one-woman-show for my Grandparents complete with costume changes and intermission. When I say I was hooked, I. WAS. HOOKED.

As for the 2004, film version, I’ve never finished it. I’ve seen different scenes for certain songs, but I’m not a fan of the changes they decided to make. I think Emmy Rossum does a beautiful Christine but as of this post, I have yet to complete this film…perhaps next Halloween?

Fun Facts

On opening night, Andrew LLoyd Webber was too nervous to watch the show, Producer Cameron Mackintosh told him when to arrive for the curtain call.

Though he had nothing to worry about, Phantom of the Opera  was nominated for 10 Tony Awards in 1988, and won seven; including Best Musical, Best Actor in a Musical (Crawford) and Best Featured Actress in a Musical. As of 2006, Phantom beat Cats as the longest running show in Broadway History.

A sequel was created called, Love Never Dies, which was loosely based on the 1999 novel, The Phantom of Manhattan. Though, Webber does not regard this as a sequel, he sees it as more of a stand alone piece. Roughly 10 years after the ending of Phantom, Christine is married to Raoul and they have a son named, Gustave. The three of them travel to Coney Island, NY, after Christine is mysteriously invited to play Phantasma in their new attraction. Of course, the mysterious invitation is extended by none other than, the Phantom, himself. The show opened at the Adelphi Theatre in the West End on 9 March 2010 and ran for 17 months with mixed reviews.

Thank you for Reading!

Click here to see The Phantom of Springfield Elementary.

Leave a Reply

