Drawlloween 17 : “Sometimes science is a lot more art, than science. A lot of people don’t get that.”

Mad Science Monday

I don’t know about you but I love Adult Swim.

I started watching it when they put Family Guy and Futurama on…sure, it was Hell on my sleep schedule but great for trivia night. The original content used to scare me and honestly, gross me out. But slowly a few shows grew on me,
Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law and Moral Orel.

Stan introduced me to our current obsession,
Rick and Morty.

When this series premiered I was hesitant to watch it because I thought they were making fun of my favorite film, Back to the Future. And as it turns out, it kinda was… 😦
The series was originally inspired by a short called The Real Animated Adventures of Doc and Mharti. Many people wrongly believe that this was the pilot episode for Rick and Morty. This short was intended to offend Universal but creator, Justin Roiland began to really like the voices he was developing. As a result he began to distance himself from the short.

Since the show has become popular, Roiland has included several subtle references into the series. In the show’s Season 2 Episode 7 : “Big Trouble in Little Sanchez,” Tiny Rick draws a picture of himself that says “HELP ME” which Summer finds is drawn in the style of “Doc” from “The Real Adventures of Doc and Mharti.”

~some fun facts~

The show’s theme song is a parody of “Doctor Who” and “Tintin.”

Beth Smith is a Horse Doctor who happens to be blond. Her voice actor, Sarah Chalke has played two other blonde doctors over the years. Dr. Elliot Reid in Scrubs and Stella Zinman  in How I Met Your Mother.

Bryan Cranston auditioned for the role of Jerry while the show was in development.

Rick is never seen wearing a seat belt:
Exhibit A
Exhibit B

Thank you for Reading!

Click for more Rick!!
😀

Leave a Reply

