Drawlloween Day 10 : “There is no Dana, there is only Zuul.”

Demonday

In 1984, Cellist, Dana Barrett saw a demon named Zuul inside her refrigerator
…the rest is history.

I saw Ghostbusters when I was 5 years old. Usually movies don’t give me nightmares but lucky for me this viewing coincided with my parents going out-of-town for the night and me having to spend the night at a friend’s home.
All I could think about was Slimer roaming the halls waiting to slime me…

But after I got back home, Ghostbusters and even Ghostbusters 2 became one of my staples. I used to watch them any chance I got. I stopped that practice along the way and usually reserved it for an October viewing but my husband loves this movie, so my love for Ghostbusters has reblossomed.
In fact, I’d like to think of us as Venkman and Stantz.
Stan as the sarcastic Venkman, me as the dreamer Stantz.

Zuul aka The Gatekeeper of Gozer.

One of the two gargoyle like hellhounds known as Terror Dogs.

The Terror Dogs of Zuul and Vinz Clortho that come to life were actual statue designs from an old church in Philadelphia.

The director, Ivan Reitman, provided the demonic voice for the possessed Dana/Zuul.

In 6000 BCE, Gozer, Zuul and Vinz Clortho were worshiped by the Sumerians and Hittites. They were overthrown by the Babylonian goddess Tiamat and her followers . They were banished to another dimension and put into a centuries long hibernation.
Until they’re awoken in 1984…

Thank you for Reading!

Click here for ZUUL!
😀

Leave a Reply

