Drawlloween Day 1 : Afterlife with Archie

Happy Fall, y’all!
&
Welcome to the First Day of October.
30 Days til Halloween
&
31 Days of Drawings
ūüôā
Today’s Prompt is:

Return from the Dead

Now I’m not a huge fan of Zombies. The idea of people losing control of their bodies and having a chunk of their flesh ripped our by human teeth really freaks me out. And my good friend, Marie, (who is basically the only friend I have who shares my love of Horror films) said something rather interesting about Zombie movies, “They’re very depressing. Everyone you care about dies. Either by becoming a Zombie or getting eaten.” Which is completely true and might be another reason for my dislike of the franchise.

So, I tried to think of a Zombie Movie I could write about but then today’s prompt got me thinking about one of my favorite comic books starring that¬†incomparable comic book redheads…

ARCHIE

Archie was the first comic book I ever read and I’ve continued to read it whenever I can get my hands on an issue. What’s really cool about Archie is how reading these comics have really been imprinted into me. My Mom used to read them when she was my age. As well as my Grandma when she was young. And hopefully someday I can pass the tradition onto my children and so on and so forth.

Are you familiar with Archie Comics?
If not here are some interesting facts to bring you up to speed:
From November 1939 to 1946, MLJ Magazine was produced by¬†Maurice Coyne, Louis Silberkleit, and John L. Goldwater. Archibald “Chick” Andrews made his first appearance alongside Betty Cooper in¬†Pep Comics #22 published in December 1941. Due¬†to his¬†popularity Archie was quickly given a starring role to the extent that the Magazine title was changed to Archie Comics in 1946.

His popularity has lasted over the past 75 years. Archie and Betty live in Riverdale, USA along with Veronica Lodge, Jughead Jones, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, & Josie and the Pussycats. Along with countless other memorable faces.

Aside from their usual shenanigans over the years Archie and the Gang started doing some pretty epic crossovers. Click here to read the pretty great article THE STRANGEST ‚ÄúARCHIE‚ÄĚ CROSSOVER COMICS¬†for a more detailed look. My current¬†favorite crossover is
Archie vs Predator.
It’s a great mix of traditional Archie art with¬†more adult content.

Archie started doing some pretty awesome things in the 2010s. In September 2010 Archie Comics introduced their first openly gay character, Kevin Keller. In 2015, Archie was in a sense rebooted. The relaunch as taken Archie into edgier territory and presents whole new backstories for some of Riverdale’s ¬†famous residents. Coming from a long time fan of the series, I highly recommend you read it.¬†And without further ado, we come to the point of this Post. In 2013 a Zombie Apocalypse has¬†plagued Riverdale and its residents.
You can follow their adventures in:

Afterlife with Archie

I don’t want to spoil any of the delicious details for you so I’ll keep this brief.
It all starts with the best intentions from Riverdale’s resident Wimpy, Jughead Jones. A lapse in judgement by the local witch and next thing we know Riverdale is Ground Zero for a¬†Zombie Apocalypse. Survivors must band together to carry on and endure.

Afterlife with Archie is printed under Archie Horror Imprint, an extension of Archie Comics for titles meant for Horror titles and an older audience.¬†Afterlife with Archie¬†also follows the lives of two of Riverdales other famous Residents during the Apocalypse:¬†Sabrina the Teenage Witch &¬†Josie and the Pussycats. Sabrina’s tale is followed up with her own comic story from Horror called:¬†Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

Drawlloween Day 01
Click here to see the Drawing that goes with this Post!

Thank you for Reading
and
Happy October!!
ūüôā

If you’re into Archie drop me a line!
I’m more than happy to discuss plots and debate why Team Betty is the Best!
‚̧

Leave a Reply

