MOVING PART II -FAMILY FIRST – CHAPTER 2 – Puddin, Paints & Pigs!

now where were we…

PUDDIN

After we got back from the Shore, Stan and I got dressed in our DC Best and made a Bee Line to see Suicide Squad. I even matched my makeup to Harley Quinn…though in hindsight I should have made it more dramatic!

I know Suicide Squad got a lot of bad reviews but I still enjoyed it. The biggest disappointment for me was the story. From the trailers I had hoped for more of a happier Se7en kind of vibe. With the Squad going out on missions throughout the film instead of them having to deal with one big mission.

Needless to say Margot Robbie and Will Smith were excellent. It was really great seeing Smith in something fun again, it makes you remember why you love him in the first place. It’s like when Leonardo Dicaprio was in Django, granted Django was no where near lighthearted. But it’s a drag when these actors only do serious work  because they’re craving Oscar glory. (I know they don’t do it for awards but…you know they do.)

And Jared Leto…what can I say about Jared Leto. I was somewhat disappointed when he was cast as the Joker. Mostly because he seems really full of himself in interviews and kind of a jerk. Which isn’t fair, I know, so I kept an opened mind that hopefully he would surprise us like Ben Affleck’s Batfleck. Overall, the juries still out. From what we saw, I was not impressed. It felt to me like he was trying way too hard to be edgy. Hopefully he’ll appear somewhere else along the way in the DCEU.

and once more for the road…Harley Quinn ❤

What did you think? Were you a fan of the Joker?

PAINTS

After the movie it was off to dinner with my Parents and Grandma. We went to this special restaurant we used to go to when I was a little kid. It’s funny what sticks in your memory. I guess I used to eat their pasta a lot because every time I think of this place I remember them having excellent spaghetti…I had the Seafood 😛

The Main Event for the Evening? A quiet Sip & Paint. There was an old car show going on through Main Street as we rolled though town. My Dad loves cars, so it’s a shame we didn’t have a chance to really look around. Though we did get to see a few of ’em.

I really enjoy Sip & Paint. It’s not so much the Sipping part but the Painting that really does it for me, though the Sipping does make it fun 😛 As of this moment, I have done 7. One as part of Elise’s Bachelorette Party, 3 with Stan as a Couple, 1 as a Book Club kinda thing, a poinsettia with my Mom and boat with Manly. Each one holds a special place in my heart and stirs up fun memories.

I used to Paint all the time but once I went to College I slowly started to back track. The best thing about Sip and Paint is that it’s really chill, they provide the paints and you can just hang out with the people you care about and let your inner artist fly its freak flag.

If you’ve been hesitant about going, definitely give it a try!

PIGS

The next day we went to our first minor league ball game. The Lehigh Valley Ironpigs vs the Rochester Red Wings! It all started by chance. I asked my Elise if she wanted to go to one and funny enough, she had already purchased tickets for a different team 😛 And fortunately we were able to get the tickets right next to her.

I’ve been wanting to venture into the world of minor league teams for a while now. I just felt like this would be a fun and inexpensive way to enjoy a sporting event. I don’t know about you but getting into the City can get pretty intense.

Well, the gimmick of this particular stadium is that you can get just about everything with a touch of bacon to it. Bacon on a stick, Mac & Cheese parfait topped with Bacon Bits, you want bacon on your funnel cake?-you got it! I got a nice plastic Ironpigs mason jar filled with Hard Cider and became quite a fan of #24 Darnell Sweeney!
All n’ All a great day was had by all!

It wasn’t the most exciting game but it was pretty fun.
Have you ever been to a minor league game?

Thanks for Reading!

Leave a Reply

