“Need a hand? Well, you just wait / We’ll help you out… we each have eight.”

So…yesterday was the day.

We have less than a week in Arizona. Barely a day left in our home and just one night left to sleep in our own bed…

And yesterday was the day I saw my very first wild tarantula.

Let me set the stage:

Picture it, just before dusk, plenty of light out. Windy with a darkness to the sky only encroaching rain could explain. We were all tired, Stan had cleaned and organized all of his belongings, and was not into a walk. But Annie and, quite frankly, I needed the exercise.

So we set off on our usual route. Up Star Hill and back…

It was the way back that I came face to face with what I had been dreading about the past 10 months.

Well, to be fair, Annie came face to face with the tarantula.

While I gasped in pure shock, Annie stuck her nose right into the face of the tarantula and then turned and kept walking. If the tarantula was wearing a fedora, this would have been the point where it tipped it’s brim to us and kept on walking.

The whole thing was so chill, I’m starting to doubt it even happened. I mean what had I been expecting, for the tarantula to turn and lunge at us whilst holding a switchblade?

At first I was relieved and now having the pleasure of time and distance I can really appreciate the beauty of the moment. The tarantula was no question large, but very slender. It’s body along with each leg had a very sleek quality to it.

Now, I don’t want to jinx myself, especially since we still need to make it through sleeping tonight and packing tomorrow. But I am happy to have had this experience.

I can check off natural tarantula sighting off my bucket list…


But don’t get me wrong, I had the heebie jeebies all the way home!

 

One thought on ““Need a hand? Well, you just wait / We’ll help you out… we each have eight.”

Leave a Reply

