Day 9 Go the Whole Nine Yards

Day 9 Go the Whole Nine Yards

June 9, 1834. William Carey died. He is considered the Father of Modern Missions. He spent forty-one years as a Christian missionary to India without ever taking a furlough. Being a missionary in China in the early nineteenth century was not easy!

To go the whole nine yards means “to continue doing something dangerous or difficult until it is finished”. William Carey went the whole nine yards.

When have you gone the whole nine yards? Write about it.

Or write a story of someone in a dangerous or difficult situation and how they go the whole nine yards.

-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-

I haven’t done anything I would classify as dangerous or as difficult as being a missionary in China during the nineteenth century.

Two summers ago when FXX hosted their Simpsons Every Episode Ever Marathon I committed to watching every single episode. I kept TVs on in every room I entered and even when I slept. I made Simpson artwork and built the Simpsons Lego House. The Simpsons is my absolute all time favorite TV show. I used to watch it multiple times after school and each Sunday night. I had been waiting for a Simpsons Channel for a very long time and I was not going to miss a single moment of that marathon.

Another time I went the whole nine yards was when I completed my Coast to Coast Run Disney Challenge. The first time I ever completed a Half Marathon was during the Princess Marathon Weekend at Walt Disney World. This was also the first time my parents and Stan’s parents met. The night before the race we all went out to dinner. I’m guessing everyone just assumed I wasn’t going to really go through with the marathon since each time I tried to politely excuse myself to bed my request went unheard. Nonetheless, I completed the Half Marathon the next day and earned my medal. Fast forward to September, Stan and I were signed up to do the Disneyland Half Marathon. Due to the Army, Stan was forced to forfeit his spot in the race. I knew the chances of me being this close to completing a Coast to Coast challenge would be slim, so I was determined to make it happen. I was already in California for School but I still needed someone to go with. After going back and forth with schedules, my Mom and I decided to make it a girls weekend. Long Story Short: I earned my Coast to Coast Medal.

Leave a Reply

