Days 6 Six Sounds You Love or Hate

Days 6 Six Sounds You Love or Hate

June 6, 1944. The Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) was founded in London.

Are you a fan of the song YMCA by The Village People? Or do you hate it?

Write about and share six songs or artists you love or six songs you hate. This is a chance to learn how to embed media in a post.

Alternative: Write about sounds that grate on your nerves.

-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-

I thank my parents every day for instilling a love of music in me. I grew up listening to tunes from the ’40s through the ’80s and all kinds of Musicals.

1. Patsy Cline’s Back In Baby’s Arms

 When my cousin and I were little, my Grandfather introduced me to artists like  Elvis Presley, Loretta Lynn, Johnny Cash and Patsy Cline.  I’m choosing to share my favorite Patsy Cline song because she was the first artist I can remember my Grandfather really loving.

2. Cher’s If I Could Turn Back Time

My mom and I are big Cher fans. I love a good song that you can really sing along to and Cher has a plethora of those. From Half Breed to Believe to even You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me from Burlesque. You can’t help but sing along. One of my all time favorite songs is I Got You Babe but my favorite solo song from Cher would have to be If I Could Turn Back Time. I just really love the lyrics and the way she sings them. And seriously, who can deny how unbelievable Cher’s body is in any outfit. She could wear anything and make it look tastefully artistic. 

3. Joan Jetts’ I Hate Myself For Loving You

Whenever I need a boost in confidence I turn to Joan Jett. Her style and stage presence is just pure Badassery. She’s another artist that I love to sing along to and just about any one of her songs is a gem. I Love Rock & Roll is of course her most famous, I love that song but I’m going to go with my personal favorite.

4. Katy Perry’s The One That Got Away

I really enjoy Katy Perry as an artist. Her songs and music videos always put me in a good mood. They’re so colorful, fresh and just inspiring. My favorite song is The One That Got Away. The song itself is very visual but when you put it with the music video it’s just pure magic. I love the artsy feel and romantic tone. It makes me want to crash a party and paint a portrait of Stan each time I watch it.

5. Spice Girls’ Spice Up Your Life

All self respecting girl in the ’90s had a little spice in ’em. My friends and I used to listen to them all the time. Their ultra popular instantly recognizable, Wannabe would have been too easy, so I thought I’d spice things up a bit 😉

*Honorable Mention
Johnny Cash’s A Thing Called Love

Johnny Cash is one of my absolute favorite artists of all time.  For a time Ring of Fire used to be my favorite but recently A Thing Called Love has crept up and has taken its place. The lyrics are just so genuine and sweet, but what sealed it for me is this live version where June Carter Cash walks onto the stage and Johnny ends the song by saying, “Yeah, and here’s that woman that I love, ladies and gentlemen, June Carter.” Knowing how much Johnny loved June, that sweet sentiment is extremely touching. If everyone could love one another as much as Johnny and June, imagine how the world would be.

 

Leave a Reply

