“Revenge of the Fifth”

Things have been pretty busy around here. What with trying to get the house organized, finishing the A to Z Challenge and entertaining that is. It was a complete whirlwind which ended abruptly Tuesday morning. Leaving me with what my mom refereed to as “after party blues.” Perhaps I should have allowed the house to get trashed?
So it would have taken me longer to clean?
🙂
Right before our guests left, the three of us got to witness, Stan’s Captain Ceremony. I was able to rip the 1st Lieutenant badge off and punch his Captain patch on. Stan told me very off the cuffly, “Oh yeah, you’ll be pinning me, by the way.” I’d like to think he did it that way, so I wouldn’t be stressing longer than need be?  Our friends, Jor-El and his fiancee, had a terrible time getting here but they were fortunate enough to stay for the ceremony. The Ceremony took place at 8AM and their shuttle left at 8:45. There’s was just enough time for photos. Annie of course loved our guests and made Ruby her personal pillow for the weekend. Stan and I are not that great with entertaining, as in, we don’t have much experience. But Ruby and Jor-El, are real naturals and introduced us to a few tricks of the trade, such as this great phone app called Heads Up! Unfortunately the new version which I got is not as great as the original, but trust me when I say, it’s fun.
😀
In case you’re not into pop culture and haven’t been on the internet, yesterday was May the 4th, as in May the Force Be With You a.k.a. Star Wars Day. My husband astutely believes that May the 4th is a hokey day for everyone to just boast about being such a huge Star Wars fan. I for one, just like the excuse to watch Star Wars all day…though in all honesty I don’t need an excuse. After the movies, I found one of the Ewok adventures on youtube. But I think that’s a post best left for another day…
🙂
Since the beginning most scenes for all of the Star Wars films have been filmed in the UK. Yet, location is not the only British  tie to Star Wars and no, I’m not referring to Alec Guinness. The first known use of the phrase, “May the Fourth be with You” occurred two years after the release of A New Hope. When on May 4th, 1979, Margaret Thatcher was elected Britain’s first female Prime Minister. The Conservative party took out an advertisement in the London Evening News which states
“May the Fourth be with you, Maggie. Congratulations”.
😀
Isn’t that wild?
I will leave you with that little nugget of trivia.
🙂

I hope you’re all having a wonderful first week of May.
Thank you for Reading.
and
May the Fourth Be with you.
😉

Leave a Reply

