“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”

According to the Church, today, December 13th is the Feast of St. Lucy.Of course, I’m being a bit cheeky here posting this picture of the late great, Lucille Ball.
But I think it’s important to remember her legacy.
LAUGHTER
It’s hard at times to be happy or to be optimistic about life. Believe me, I know this all too well. I know the sickening draw of allowing the darkness to swallow you and to focus on the negatives instead of all the positives in your life. Because at your darkest, those positives seem awfully slim. How the warm cocoon of failure can be more comforting than the harsh reality of just picking yourself up from your slump and moving forward.
No matter what life has given you, the darkness affects everyone.
The holidays can be a time of great joy but it can also be a time of great sadness.
If you’re reading this and feel the darkness swallowing you, just take a deep breath and push forward.
Tomorrow will be brighter and you will be thankful that you held on.
and if you are reading this with nothing but good thoughts and warm wishes in your heart, then share it.
Christmas is a time of giving not receiving.
People often forget that the holidays revolve around the Manger and the Menorah.
So, if you are in the Holiday spirit, then think about reaching out.
Whether that be at a soup kitchen, sending out an extra Christmas card or simply picking up the phone to call someone. Remember that even the people who live in the brightest of houses, may be living the darkest of lives.
Reach out and Remember to pop in that copy of Christmas Vacation.

My parents arrived for our Thanksgiving Extravaganza the night of November 18th and left December 1st.
We spent the whole time together just joking, laughing…crying and just seriously bonding.
This was the first time my parents came to visit. Stan and I were always long distanced and only moved in together after our Wedding. And before that, I only lived on my own outside of a dorm setting for about four months.
So, as most of you fellow adults should understand and I was a little nervous getting my house, Parent ready.
I had to clear out one of the guest rooms and get the bed, nightstand and TV set up.
Plus, clean the house, especially Family Room and Kitchen.
And grocery shop for all my parents favorite foods.
Please don’t get me wrong, my parents are extremely easy-going and would not judge us in the slightest.
You know how it is, you want to make a good impression of yourself as an adult and make them proud of what they have spent so much of their lives creating and sculpting ❤
🙂
Since Stan had a Four Day Weekend for Thanksgiving. We took that opportunity to travel. We drove up to Prescott and over to the Grand Canyon on Black Friday. In between the travel, we celebrated. Since we’d be away our first Thanksgiving as a couple, my mom and I cooked a Thanksgiving Meal the Tuesday before. Manny and Zek stopped by and we watched our annual tradition while we waited for dessert. Another occasion we celebrated was my Mom’s Birthday. Since we’ll be in route the day of her birth, I decided to have a three-part celebration. 1. I was able to secure two spots for a Sip n’ Paint on post and the real good fortune was that we painted my mom’s favorite flower! 2. Gifts were early, duh. And 3. we celebrated our Holiday Tradition, just a little earlier than planned.
WFM Parents TripOnce we came home from our travels, my mom and I did two very important things. Constructed our Advent Wreath and went to see The Peanuts Movie. Which I feel was a nice nod to the classics but overall, something was just off about it. Don’t get me wrong, if you enjoy Peanuts and Snoopy then you’ll probably enjoy this. And as you can see from our Advent Wreath it looks a bit different from the normal Advent Wreaths that are out there. We kind of waited until the last-minute and for some reason, making the wreath more into a bush felt somewhat right.
After a tearful goodbye, I am proud to say that for the first and perhaps only time in my life, I was able to order, address and mail all of my Christmas Cards during the first week of December!

Also, speaking of the first week, I have good news: I found where Catholic Women of the Chapel was held and pushed myself to attend the December meeting (same day the Cards were mailed.) Unfortunately, the CWOC here only meets once a month but the women were all very welcoming and really allowed me to feel included. We watched a video and played Church Bingo. It’s not as lame as it sounds, it was pretty interesting and fun. Each square was a Saint and something of merit or interest was read about each one of them.
(Funny side note: my Advent Wreath looks surprisingly similar to the Advent Wreath that was seated inside the Chapel)
🙂
And back to Christmas Cards.
If you have time and a spare stamp please send a Holiday Card to Safyre Terry. The only surviving victim of an arson that took the rest of her family in May of 2013. All she wants for Christmas this year are Holiday Cards.
Cards can be mailed to:
Safyre
P.O. Box 6126
Schenectady, New York, 12306
(Just to be on the Safe Side, I didn’t include a return address)

Thank you for reading.

Please stay 🙂

FightUnfair

 

2 thoughts on ““I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”

Leave a Reply

