“A Date Which Will Live in Infamy”

After observing the Memorial of the Attack on Pearl Harbor yesterday, It got me thinking and I thought it best that I should put my feelings surrounding this historic day into words for all of you.

.December 7th, 1941.

God Bless the Women and Men who lost their lives on that terrible day 74 years ago.

I am proud to be an American.
Being an Army Wife has only deepened my adoration for the United States. But the Pride really stems from my Grandfathers, who both served in the Army. My Paternal Grandfather, actually having served in the Pacific during World War II and my Maternal Grandfather, served during the 1950’s and who was an avid reader of History.
.December 7th, 2007.
My Maternal Grandfather was buried after losing his fight with Mesothelioma.
Having my Grandfather’s burial date occur the same date as Pearl Harbor is somewhat appropriate.  My Grandpa was the proudest American I have ever known. He was also the person who taught me all about the War and the Attack on Pearl Harbor. We spent hours upon hours upon hours just discussing facts, the Japanese and the Nazis…much to the vexation of our other family members, who just wanted to enjoy dinner.
My husband and I had the great fortune to go to
Hawaii for our Honeymoon and we were able to visit Pearl Harbor.
IMG_20151207_145320it was an experience I won’t soon forget and hoping to repeat.

***

We were afraid but we were also very angry after the attacks of Pearl Harbor.
And we pulled together as a Nation and fought for freedom.
I remember after September 11th, my Grandfather noting the similarities to December 7th. Describing how our country had let us down once again. One particular similarity that is becoming increasingly more prevalent since the years after September 11th are our nervousness towards the “enemy.” Charged by discrimination, over 100,000 Japanese living in America were forced into Internment Camps. In hindsight, most people see this as a terrible injustice, abuse of power and the one black mark on FDR’s Presidential record.
Click for more information on the Japanese Internment Camps.
I apologize if my recent posts have been too political for some people.
I was never a political person growing up but due to recent events with Isis, I felt that it was time to become more informed and involved in Politics. I’m neither a Republican nor a Democrat, I’m not trying to sway anyone. I’m just striving to keep myself and others informed.

Thank you for staying with me,
Thank you so much for taking the time to read,
and
please have a Wonderful and Happy day.

Everyone has their favorites…
For me, Franklin Delano Roosevelt was the greatest President of the United States.
Here is a clip from one of his greatest Speeches, given 74 years ago today.

One thought on ““A Date Which Will Live in Infamy”

Leave a Reply

