“Now we can watch Jackie Gleason while we eat!” : BACK TO THE FUTURE EDITION

October 21, 2015
I have been looking forward to this day for a very long time.
Back to the Future was my family movie growing up. Since my parents introduced the trilogy to me when I was a baby, I can’t remember the first time I ever experienced the joy of watching it.
Also, because we used to watch it so much that the dialogue was fused into my brain and made
Marty McFly aka Michael J. Fox my first crush.

The film also taught me how to deliver my first curse word, back when I was five, I remember being scolded by my Grandmother, after she walked in on me recreating Doc’s “Damn-Damn” scene with the soundtrack blaring.

Back to the Future has remained my favorite film and you can imagine my delight when I learned that my density shared that love of BTTF.
BTTF DAY Part IIn fact, this picture is the very first text I ever sent to Stan ❤
(long story)
IMG326My love of Back to the Future, may be a bit too intense, I went as far as to propose the idea of actually getting married on October 21st, 2015…didn’t get a lot of support 😛
But BTTF was the name of our Head Table.
BacktotheFuture Bookmark Collage

So, without further ado, here is my Back to the Future : October 21, 2015 : Blog Post
dedicated entirely to that 1985 classic, starring Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd.
Back_to_the_Future (1)And what better way to celebrate then
with Dinner and not just a movie but 3 Movies!
(No Dinner and a Movie in 1885)

For tonight’s dinner, I focused on meals from the first film.

BTTF CandynVodka

Here are the ingredients I found at the Commissary, Fry’s and stuff my mom sent 🙂
IMG_3002

November 5th – 12th, 1955
I Googled, 1950’s meatloaf recipe and it brought me to this:

This was a very easy and enjoyable recipe to put together.
Stan said he really liked it but I think next time, I’ll put it into the oven longer than an hour and 15 minutes.

Well, Marty, I hope you like meatloaf.

For dessert, I took the easy way and bought cake mix and already made frosting. Next time, I would definitely suggest buying extra frosting, I’d forgotten how unforgiving frosting a chocolate cake was.
WfM Uncle Jailbird joey cake

Also, I’m probably going to start practicing my icing skills.
IMG_3015

I tried to make special t-shirts for the occasion…I bought a new kind of paint, which was unwise, but I do like how they came and I think I might add an Einstein cartoon 🙂
t-shirt art

: Now for the Main Event :

Part I : Dinner

IMG_3019

Part II : Movies
BTTF DAY Part III a

This was first time I snuck in something other than water to the theaters…shhh…but I just thought it was appropriate to have some Peanut Brittle and Tab. I also decided to dress for the movie and I was not alone 🙂
I’m so happy that we got to see Back to the Future love from so many fellow fans.
Triple Feature

The theater also played funny previews and commercials playing in between the first and second film.
One for Calvin Klein, Hoverboards and this gem:

And we got all this for just $5!

 Oh, and my Mom, Dad, Grandma and Gracie also got into the spirit of the day.
[ note my dad’s shoes 🙂 ]
WfM BTTF DAY Mom and Dad edition

And now, if you’ll excuse me I need to get our late night supper-snack on the table.
thank you for reading
and
wherever you are, remember.

-PS-

Maybe on Friday, we’ll hydrate a pizza.

– -PPS- –
Fun Food Fact: You know how E.T. had Reese’s Pieces?
Remember this scene in BTTF?

“A marketer hoped to get a prominent placement for California Raisins somewhere in the film. He suggested putting a bowl of raisins on a table at the Enchantment Under the Sea Dance. He had also told the California Raisins board that this would do for raisins what E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982) did for Reese’s Pieces. Bob Gale informed him that a bowl of raisins would photograph like a bowl of dirt. The only thing that appears in the film is Marty jumping over Red, sleeping on a bench that is advertising California Raisins. Unhappy with their product placement, the California Raisins representatives complained to the producers, and had their five thousand dollars refunded.” imdb

— -PPPS- —
this was too weird not to share, have you ever seen the one on the right?

okay, I’ll stop gushing now 😀

2 thoughts on ““Now we can watch Jackie Gleason while we eat!” : BACK TO THE FUTURE EDITION

Leave a Reply

