“I wear black because I’m comfortable in it. But then in the summertime when it’s hot I’m comfortable in light blue.”

Happy 80th

Ten years ago, we hosted a huge Birthday party in honor of my Grandpa. We invited all of the cousins, second cousins, Aunts, Uncles and friends. Pretty much everyone who ever meant anything to my Grandpa attended.
We put up a big tent in the backyard and danced the night away.

Two years later, he passed away.

This is a poem I used to recite every night before bed:

God saw you getting tired
and a cure was not to be
so he put His arms around you
and whispered come to me.

With tearful eyes we watched you
as you slowly slipped away
and although we loved you dearly
we couldn’t make you stay.

A golden heart stopped beating
hard working hands at rest.
God broke our hearts to prove to us
He only takes the best.

I know everyone thinks highly of their grandparents, but my Grandfather was certainly a Giant among Men.

I could go on and on about how much he meant to me and his family, but all I’ll just say this:
He was a proud American who wasn’t afraid to speak up for what he believed in.

I try my best to live by his example.
He spoke the truth, as I said he wasn’t afraid to do so. But he was also not afraid to back those words up.

I see him in pop culture.

When I want to hear his voice:

Or his actions:

My Grandfather is all around me.

I’ve missed him every day since his passing, but for some reason this year was different.
It hurts to think about all the things we’ve missed out on these past eight years.
He never got to see Ginny graduate.
He didn’t get to see me go to a college 45 minutes from his house.
He didn’t get to see me on my Wedding day.
and
He never met Stan.

IMAG1340
My Grandpa was an expert pie maker, his specialty was Apple.

But on his birthday, I also felt that we shouldn’t dwell on the loss, but celebrate the person.
We should celebrate the good memories we have of those we’ve lost.
We shouldn’t live in the past but what is the hardship of making a special meal in their honor.
I’ve thought this before, but it was really nice eating that Apple Pie,
knowing that it was because of my Grandfather.
I was taking time out of my day to think solely of him.
I’d like to promise myself that from this day forward, I will try my best to celebrate
the lives of my loved ones who have passed.

One thought on ““I wear black because I’m comfortable in it. But then in the summertime when it’s hot I’m comfortable in light blue.”

  1. That was a lovely tribute to my dad, your Grandpa . He was a very special person and he did speak his mind. Can’t believe its going to be 8 years this December. I thought that would be nice posted on face book, because the fire house people im frinendly with are friends on face book and im sure they would have loved that. Mary you are a special person. Keep family I mind we can learn a few things from you. I love you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

