“Well, you’ve come a long way from the girl I knew nothing about in high school.”

I was definitely the youngest one at the Catholic Women of the Chapel (CWOC) meeting. When we were getting to know one another, I was the only one who did not have a “human” child. Speaking of children, two women there are mothers of two of my VBS girls. One of which just moved here from Fort Knox, Kentucky and she reminded me of another worry I need in my head. All of their stuff arrived three weeks after they did…

Back to CWOC, we sat in this U and went around introducing ourselves: hobbies, favorite childhood memory, favorite prayer and what we hope to learn. I wasn’t sure I had a favorite prayer, but then since I was third to last in the U, I had time to really think it over and remembered a prayer I used to recite in middle school.

My mom bought be a Guardian Angel token with this prayer attached:

Angel of God,
My Guardian dear,
To whom His love
Commits me here;
Ever this day
Be at my side
To light and guard,
To rule and guide.

After this, we said the rosary, but it was the official rosary, with the mysteries and other prayers included. I normally just say the 6 Our Fathers and 53 Hail Marys. It was kind of a treat doing it the formal way. That is until we got to the second bead…the I believe in God,…  Do you know that prayer? I thought I did…but just in case, I’ll refresh your memory:

Did you catch that? The fifth line down. That part about Jesus descending into Hell?? Yeah…I’ll let you mull that one over…

Okay, I want to rant a little for moment, but we were discussing the sacraments and long story short: did you know that becoming a nun isn’t considered a sacrament?? In other words, only men can obtain Holy Orders? Part of the reason, I like being Catholic, is the tradition.

After the rosary we played two games. The first dealt with having to pick three MnMs from the ones they left on the table:

IMG_2824

and then answering from a list of questions that go with the colors you picked. It’s a good and easy ice breaker game that doesn’t take a lot of effort…aside from coming up with entertaining answers (but that’s optional.)

birthdayWfM 081315 MnM game arrows

Then with the remaining minutes, we played Bible Pictionary. Which was actually really fun. I got Jesus and all I had to draw was this much and they got it…the eyes and smile were an aftereffect.

IMG_2869-2

Throughout the meeting, they were having a lottery and I won on the third draw!

WfM CWOC drawing

Which helped me out in more ways than one aka I got to finish wrapping a special birthday present for a
special-former-flower-girl.

WfM CallaPresent

All and all, it went very well. I actually volunteered to make a dessert for this upcoming Thursday. I was leaning towards this fun little cake, but unfortunately they don’t have clementines in the commissary. If you have any ideas for what I should make, shoot me an email, just keep in mind that I’m currently unable to bake cupcakes and muffins.
They also gave us these folders:

IMG_2838

And speaking of baked goods, I found this delicious new recipe for Baked Carrot Fries from http://www.momables.com/baked-carrot-french-fries/
They’re so easy to make and even easier to eat!

WfM baked carrots

I found the recipe after Stan started a stricter diet. I spent the week finding interesting recipes that I could make with the stuff in our fridge. Here’s some of Stan’s favorites:

WfM Stan;s Low Carb Delight

I on the other hand do enjoy my salads and veggies, I also enjoy my rice and pasta.
So, my diet has not nearly been as strict.

In honor of Pizza Friday, we tried out Inside Out’s Broccoli Pizza. We bought the thin crust this time.

WfM Pizza Friday Brocc

and something startling happened while cooking. I was cutting up the lemons when–

IMAG0248

My favorite recipe to make was Spaghetti Squash in the crock pot. It was just so easy to make, put all the ingredients in and set the timer for 5 hours! Unfortunately, the crock pot we have is a little small, so I put half the squash in and the other half in the oven. got the crock pot recipe from http://www.catchingupwithkate.com/spaghetti-squash-slow-cooker/
This was the first time using a crock pot and first time preparing spaghetti squash….the jury is still out on the squash, I still like the more traditional spaghetti.

WfM 081615 spaghetti squash

Unfortunately, Stan went on rotation this weekend, so we couldn’t start our RCIA classes. Well, he couldn’t start, I’ve already spent 7 years of my life going through CCD, I’m just going for moral support.

I also, accidentally made a plate of delicious chocolate chip brownies…the accident being this started out as cookies.

IMG_2859

Needless to say, they were just as satisfying! Here are some fun photos of what else we’ve been up to…

Golden Pride

WfM 081815 Annie's Teeth

WfM listen to Joy and Hydrate

Ane

unluckylefty
WfM Annie's first self portrait

I’ve also been binging on a bit of SaB before next Monday’s premiere
and couldn’t help but share this bit of advice, I wish I could remember.

I hope you all are having a beautiful August.
WfM TYfRaPTaF

Leave a Reply

