“So! You’re being strangely cryptic as you wrap your magic hair around my injured hand.”

One last adventure I shared with Murphy and Evie….

In honor of my beloved Aunt who passed away in March from advanced esophageal cancer, I decided to cut off a little over 10 inches and send it in for Locks of Love. I know this doesn’t help my Aunt directly, but it’s just a small easy way to show my support.

WfM LocksofLove 2

For some reason, I get really anxious before cutting my hair. It may have something to do with my dad not liking when people cut their hair, he even used to get upset if Evie got her fur cut! But even when I get a trim I break out into a cold sweat, which is funny since after the cutting has been done, I’m fine. Is that normal?

I wanna say, yes it is… Anyway, I got a pixie in the Fall of 2009 and after that I’ve been growing it out ever since. Trimming it slowly into one length, except for a brief moment of weakness when I got Gwen Staci bangs.

Once I got engaged, I decided to keep it growing…until now.

The Tuesday before I left for California, I decided to listen to Stan’s hinting and finally cut my hair.

And instead of going to a salon, I wanted to cast off the shackles and do it myself!

 

It…uh…went well…. actually, it was pretty funny, I was going to let my mom and Grandma cut part of my hair. I just thought it’d be a “freeing” experience for all of us. I don’t know why, lol. My mom started cutting but we were nervous about my dad walking in in the middle, so she just kind of took over and started cutting really fast. So, I ended up having to skip over the all one length lob into that edgy, long in the front shorter in the back look.

After cleaning up the evidence, I placed the ponytail inside a plastic bag and placed that into a large envelope. Along with the form and the photo below and brought them all to the post office to be properly weighed.

WfM Before and After Hair

Stan was so happy that I got my hair cut! He likes short hair and was getting tired of me getting us carded. Stan thinks my hair makes me look like a cross between Carol Marcus and Arya Stark. I mean I was trying to look older than 16 but, hey, both are pretty cool, so I’ll take it.

Thank you for reading and for more information on Locks of Love, visit their website:
                      http://www.locksoflove.org/

How To Donate

  • 10 inches measured tip to tip is the minimum length used for a hairpiece.
  • Hair must be in a ponytail or braid before it is cut.
  • Hair must be clean and completely dry before it is mailed in.
  • Place the ponytail or braid inside of a plastic bag, and then inside of an envelope.
  • If you wish to receive an acknowledgment for your hair donation, please fill out the hair donation form, or write your name and e-mail address or mailing address on a full size separate sheet of paper and include inside the envelope. We cannot acknowledge donors who do not send their name and address according to these instructions.
  • All hair donations must be mailed to Locks of Love at: 234 Southern Blvd. West Palm Beach, FL 33405-2701
  • Important: When mailing your donation, please make sure that you are sending it with adequate postage. The U.S. Postal Service has notified Locks of Love that many donations are being sent without enough postage, and these packages will be returned to sender. To ensure adequate postage, please take your donation to your local post office.

There’s also other charities that will collect donated hair, such as

Wigs for Kids

You need a minimum of 12 inches of hair

http://www.wigsforkids.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=70&Itemid=260

Pantene

You need a minimum of 8 inches of hair

http://pantene.com/en-us/experience-main-section2/beautiful-lengths?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=donate%20hair&utm_campaign=Pantene_Search_Category+Interest_SP&utm_content=sLreUNMDK_dc|pcrid|67249983755|pkw|donate%20hair|pmt|p. 

Leave a Reply

